Acorn Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

Instead of donning my bikini and sunning myself with the rest of San Francisco in Dolores Park this week, I’ve been content experimenting with all kinds of autumn squash in my steamy kitchen. Yesterday, my mother-in-law and I made some thyme and parmesan crusted butternut squash and a chicken braised in chicken broth and dry sherry. Today I made an acorn squash and sweet potato soup that was to die for. My CSA box is delivering delicata squash, golden beets, and rainbow cherry tomatoes so who knows what tomorrow will bring. All I know is that things will be a bit different in the kitchen without someone here to immediately clean up after me. Thanks again Joyce!

Acorn Squash and Sweet Potato Soup, courtesy of Tartelette

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 sweet onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed (about 3 cups)
  • 1 large acorn squash, peeled and cubed (about 3 cups)
  • 9 cups homemade chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions:

Heat the oil in a large heavy soup pot set over medium high heat. Add the onion and curry powder and cook until the onion is almost translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the sweet potatoes, acorn squash, stock, maple syrup, thyme and nutmeg. Bring the soup to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, until the potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes. Remove the thyme sprigs. Let the soup cool a little. Puree the soup until smooth with an immersion blender or a blender/food processor. Reheat the soup before serving and adjust the seasoning with salt and pepper if necessary.

2 thoughts on “Acorn Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Pingback: Recipe Testing Winner – Moroccan-Spiced Roast Chicken | copiseats

Comments are closed.