Blueberry Basil Jam

Another day, another jam. I needed something to do with all of my blueberries so I decided to make a small batch of Blueberry Basil Jam today. I found a good recipe on the Rustic Kitchen website and was done before I knew it. It was only supposed to make a cup of jam but I actually got 2 4-ounce jars and 1 6-ounce jar out of it as well as a nice pour on top of my yogurt. This is a tasty one that would go really well with soft cheese and some crackers or on a thick slice of warm bread.

  • 3 cups blueberries
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, finely minced
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
Pour blueberries into a large saucepan over high heat.  Mash with a potato masher or the back of a wooden spoon.  Once they begin to exude juice, stir in sugar.
Boil, stirring occasionally, until your candy thermometer reads 225 degrees.  Test with a cold spoon in the freezer to be sure it is done. Remove the jam from heat, stir in the basil and lemon juice, and transfer to sterile containers.  Store in the refrigerator or preserve as needed.
