Peach Vanilla Smoothie

I’m a sucker for any smoothie recipe by Martha Rose Schulman. Yesterday she posted a Peach Vanilla Smoothie on her NYT Recipes for Health column. Since I had a sad little peach in the fridge and I’m headed out of town for the weekend, I figured I would put it to good use. I’m so glad I did – this was a refreshing, filling, and not too sweet snack before hitting the road. I’m also a big fan of her Banana Peanut Butter drink which I love to make after a workout. It’s funny because I’m not even a huge smoothie fan but now I’m hooked on anything she posts. Mom, can you imagine how many of these we’d be making if we had our old peach and nectarine tree? 😦

Blend together:

  • 1 large ripe peach
  • Small handful sliced almonds
  • 2/3 cup lowfat milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 ice cubes
Drink as fast as you can until you get a brain freeze. Yum!
