Peach Ice Cream

Every time I drive through the Central Valley, I make sure to visit at least one produce stand along the way. On my drive to Truckee yesterday, I stopped in Dixon to grab a couple pounds of peaches for eating and ice cream making. The stand did not disappoint. I had what was probably the most juicy and flavorful canteloupe I’ve ever eaten, and I’m already looking forward to stopping again tomorrow on my way back home.

I’ve borrowed David Lebovitz’s Perfect Scoop book at the library numerous times but have never tried his peach ice cream until tonight. It was every bit as delicious as everyone says it is. Ripe peaches are key (and I love the addition of sour cream) but I’m guessing it gets even better the longer it sits in the freezer. We could only hold out for 25 minutes of churning so our “ice cream” was more like soft serve – which was totally satisfying. The rest of the batch is sitting in the freezer and will be hardened up for breakfast tomorrow morning. Yum!

Peach Ice Cream (from David Lebovitz’s Perfect Scoop)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ripe peaches [about 4 large peaches]
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • A  few drops freshly squeezed lemon juice

Peel the peaches, slice them in half, and remove the pits. Cut the peaches into chunks and cook them with water in a nonreactive saucepan over medium heat, covered, stirring once or twice, until soft and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in the sugar, then cool to room temperature. Purée the cooked peaches and any liquid in a blender or food processor with the sour cream, heavy cream, vanilla, and lemon juice until almost smooth but slightly chunky. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator (overnight is best but we didn’t have the patience) and freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

