Strawberry Shortcake

Dough kind of scares me. My grammy will tell you that I’m not the most skilled when it comes to rolling out pie dough. Alex will tell you that my Italian roots are lost on me when it comes to shaping pizza dough. And my cousins can share the time that my cupcakes looked and tasted more like muffins – coining the term “mufcakes”. So you can imagine how nervous I was yesterday in making strawberry shortcake for the first time… for my cousin who witnessed the “mufcake” episode. Oh and it was to celebrate her birthday. Lucky for me, they turned out beautifully- light and fluffy in the middle with just a bit of crisp on the outside. My new mission is to perfect this recipe over the summer.

I modified a recipe I found on the King Arthur Flour website and will definitely try it again. I made a few modifications because I didn’t want such a large batch (the original yields 9 servings) and didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand. The one thing I would change is to make them thicker next time rather than patting the dough out too thin.

Biscuits

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 TB baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 cup dried buttermilk powder* (I used non fat milk powder)
1.5 TB sugar
1/2 stick butter, cut into small pieces
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 large egg
1/2 cup milk

*Or substitute 1/2 cup buttermilk for the buttermilk powder and milk.

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Whisk together the dry ingredients, and cut in the cold butter, margarine or shortening. Whisk the vanilla and egg with the milk, then add all at once to the dry ingredients and stir until the liquid is absorbed. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 4 or 5 times, just until it holds together. Pat the dough out until it’s about 1/2 to 3/4 inches thick, and cut it into circles (using a sharp cutter for the highest rising biscuits). Place the biscuits onto an ungreased baking sheet, brush the tops with milk or egg white for a shiny surface, sprinkle with sugar if desired, and bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until the tops are golden brown. Remove from the oven and cool for 15 minutes before serving.

Shortcake

1 quart hulled strawberries
1/4 cup sugar (I’d go even lighter next time)
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup whipping cream

Mash 2 cups of the strawberries. Slice the remaining strawberries, and mix all of the berries with the sugar and lemon juice. Let rest 1 hour. Whip the cream until soft peaks form. Just before serving, split open the biscuits, spoon half the berries and whipped cream on the bottom half, top with remaining biscuit halves, and spoon on remaining berries and cream.

Happy birthday Patty! Thanks for coming into the city to play with us 🙂

One thought on “Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

Comments are closed.