Carrot Zucchini Bread (or Biscotti) with Candied Ginger

I decided to make Janet Fletcher’s Carrot Zucchini Bread with Candied Ginger yesterday to bring to my seminar class and make the afternoon a little more bearable. (I knew better than to keep it home for myself with Alex out of town.)

What is difficult about the recipe is that you need 2 – 8x4x2 inch loaf pans and I only have one up here in Seattle (the other is at home in SF). I decided to improvise with a much smaller stoneware baking dish that my mom bought me for Valentine’s Day a few years ago. What I failed to remember was that smaller + stoneware = shorter baking time. When I opened the oven after an hour, I had an extremely over-baked loaf of bread along with one that needed additional time in the oven. Ever the optimist, my friend Sharon suggested that I slice the over-baked loaf into small pieces to bake again, transforming them into biscotti. Genius! I did as she suggested and baked them for an additional 10 minutes on each side and voila, 8 carrot zucchini candied ginger biscotti were born. The other loaf came out perfectly. And by perfect, I mean ever so slightly under-baked in the middle.

I’m happy to report that I had a piece of biscotti for breakfast this morning with my coffee and a slice of bread after lunch for dessert. Not only did I get my cake, I got some biscotti too.

One thought on “Carrot Zucchini Bread (or Biscotti) with Candied Ginger

Comments are closed.