Soups and Snow

I just looked outside and realized that it’s snowing! I hope it sticks around for a few days. I’d love the opportunity to make another snow angel in Seattle before we move back to San Francisco. With all of the cold weather we’ve had lately, I’ve been busy making soup to stay warm. My two latest concoctions have been a sunchoke soup and a red chard, lentil, and barley soup. The first wasn’t all that exciting but the second is quite good. I’m mostly happy because I didn’t really use a recipe. Instead, I used some homemade chicken broth and just added all of the goodies from my CSA box. As soon as it’s cool enough, it’s going into a pasta jar for the first soup swap of the year!

Chard and Lentil Soup with Barley

6.5 cups homemade chicken stock
3 TB olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 celery stalk, finally chopped
Huge bunch of chard (I used red), ripped into medium-sized pieces
2/3 cup green lentils, rinsed and picked over
2 TB tomato paste
1/2 cup pearl barley
salt and pepper
**Parm and olive oil to drizzle on top of each bowl

Bring your stock to a boil. In another pan, heat the oil on low heat and add the onion, garlic, celery, and carrot. Stir occasionally for about 10 minutes until the vegetables are lightly browned. Stir in the chard and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then add the lentils and tomato paste- continuing to stir for another minute. Pour in the stock, bring to a boil, and add the barley. Simmer for 20-30 minutes until the grains are tender. Season with salt and pepper. Ladle into a soup dish and drizzle with high-quality olive oil and parmesan cheese.

