Leite’s Culinaria Recipe Testing

On December 31, 2010 at 7:41 am, I received what might have been one of the most exciting emails of the decade. After a year had passed since applying, I was accepted into the ranks of recipe testers for the James Beard Award-winning site, Leite’s Culinaria. You have no idea how thrilled I am about this!

If you haven’t visited the site, I highly recommend doing so now. If you remember the saffron, cinnamon, almond chicken dish that I made a few months ago, that came from the Leite’s website. Over the weekend, I spent a lot of time poking around on the website and realized that anything labeled “Testers Choice” means that several recipe testers gave it the highest possible score during the evaluation. These would be excellent recipes to start with if you are interested in trying something from their site. What I love about Leite’s is that they often feature the best recipes of any given cookbook so you don’t have to keep buying $30-60 books every time your favorite author publishes a new one.

So, what does becoming a recipe tester entail? I’m now a part of the Leite’s team as a volunteer! Rather than embarking on a totally different career (again) and enrolling myself in cooking school, I now get to expand my cooking repertoire and hone some new cooking and baking techniques by regularly testing recipes for them. This will definitely help me attain my goal of hosting more dinner parties in 2011! (However, no promises on the outcomes.)

While I’m not allowed to post the recipes themselves, I will be able to write about my experiences in testing them. What is especially cool is that if I have any questions about the recipes or techniques involved, I can ask the experts for help. This will surely be an awesome adventure and I look forward to sharing it with you – my loyal readership of 7 🙂

Thanks for joining me and happy new year!

One thought on “Leite’s Culinaria Recipe Testing

Comments are closed.