Soup swap, round 2

Sharon and I swapped our second batch of soup last week. She made a peanut chicken stew with lots of veggies and I made butternut squash soup. My friend Mark (Thanksgiving Mark) introduced me to it several years ago and I make it frequently throughout the fall and winter – it’s one of my favorites and is very simple to make.

I just had Sharon’s stew for dinner and it was yummy. Who would have thought to add creamy peanut butter to a soup? Not me but I love it. I’d make it again and add some thai basil just to give it a twist.

Mark’s butternut squash recipe

  • Tart apple
  • Yellow onion
  • Decent sized butternut squash (you can use any sweet squash here)
  • Vegetable or chicken broth
  • Cloves
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Optional: creme fraiche

Chop and saute the onions until translucent. Add the sliced and peeled apple. Add the peeled and diced butternut. Add enough broth to cover the butternut (don’t use too much) and simmer until the butternut is soft all the way through. Transfer the squash/apple/onion mixture (with a slotted spoon) to the food processor and puree using as little broth as possible. Transfer the pureed mixture to another pot and add the remaining broth until it is the desired consistency. Save the extra broth if you plan to refrigerate the soup and add it when you warm it up. Add spices as desired. Top w/ creme fraiche.

