Swapping soup with Sharon

It’s much less shady that it sounds. Ever since I heard about a group of friends who started a freezer food collaborative, I have been bugging my own friends to do the same thing. Well, today was the day. My friend Sharon and I had scheduled a study date and realized that we were both planning to make a batch of soup before we met up. We also both happened to be throwing away jars of tomato sauce so we decided to use them as vessels for our soup exchange. I made a variation of Alice Waters’ minestrone and she made a spicy southwest soup with chicken andouille and chickpeas.

Here is a photo of our two jars in the coffee shop. (It’s a crappy image taken on my phone but I think it’s funny that we both decorated the jars.)

jars

Minestrone soup ingredients:

1 cup dried cannellini beans (I LOVE zursun beans)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 ribs celery, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
5 thyme sprigs
1 bay leaf
2 teaspoons salt
4 cups chicken broth (or veggie broth or water)
1 small leek, diced
1/2 lb green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 medium zucchini, cut into small dice
1 14.5 oz can organic diced tomatoes
2 cups spinach leaves, coarsely chopped
**I used my food processor to separately chop the onion, carrot, garlic, leek, and zucchini. It definitely sped up the prep time for the recipe.

Soak, cook, and set the beans aside. Heat 1/4 cup olive oil in a heavy-bottomed pan over medium heat and add in the onion, carrots, and celery. Cook for 15 minutes until tender. Add garlic, thyme, bay leaf, and salt. Cook for 5 minutes longer. Add 3 cups water, veggie or chicken broth and bring to a boil. Next, add the leek and green beans. Cook for 5 minutes. Then add the zucchini and tomatoes. Cook for 15 minutes and taste for salt. Add the cooked beans and chopped spinach. Cook for 5 minutes. If soup is too thick, add more liquid (can be bean cooking liquid, water, or broth). Remove the bay leaf and serve with additional olive oil, Parmesan cheese, or pesto as a garnish. Enjoy!

Soup

