Beans and soup

This time last week I was walking around the Presidio in San Francisco with a sunburned nose. This morning I walked to ballet class wearing three layers, a raincoat, gloves, and a wool hat. I’ve been mourning the loss of spring break and warm weather by hoarding my cabinet full of heirloom beans and researching soup recipes to make in the slow cooker. The apartment is freezing but at least it smells good!

I found The Gourmet Slow Cooker, Simple and Sophisticated Meals from Around the World at the library next door and chose to make the Tuscan White Bean Soup using stock I made this week from a roasted chicken dinner. It was hearty, delicious, and even healthy. The recipe makes enough for 4-6 servings so I’ll be adding this to the freezer for late nights at school.

Ingredients:

2 cups dried white beans

6-8 cups water (I used homemade chicken stock)

1 carrot, peeled and firmly chopped

1 yellow onion, finely choped

1 celery stock, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 sprig thyme (I used dried)

1 14.5 oz can crushed tomatoes

Salt

4-6 TB olive oil, for garnish

Freshly grated Parm, for garnish

I soaked 2 cups of Rancho Gordo cannellini beans overnight, drained them this morning, and added them to the slow cooker. Cover with fresh water or broth and add the carrot, onion, garlic, thyme, celery, and tomatoes and stir well. You can also add a ham bone or parmesan rind to add more flavor. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours until the carrot and beans are very tender. Stir in salt to taste and remove the thyme. Garnish each serving with 1TB olive oil and a sprinkle of cheese. Yum!

photo

