Corned Beef Goodness

Today I experienced the magic that is my slow-cooker. I put 4 lbs of corned beef in the slow-cooker along with some onions, spices, beer, and brown sugar and had a feast of a dinner with the boys when they returned from Mt. Baker tonight. I found the recipe in Slow Cooker: The Best Cookbook Ever that I borrowed from the library. I don’t actually remember ever having eaten corned beef but my grandmother tells me she made it often for my grandfather. She was surprised that I wasn’t making it with cabbage. When I came home from school this afternoon, I immediately thought of my Grammy’s house in that the smell brought me back to when I was a little girl staying over on weekends. While the taste wasn’t familiar, I definitely recall the smell. I served it over polenta triangles with steamed broccoli and a red lettuce salad from our CSA box. Yum!

Ingredients:

– 2 12 oz cans Guinness or other stout or dark ale

– 1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

– 2 tsp mustard seeds

– 6 whole black peppercorns

– 1 bay leaf

– 2 allspice berries

– 3 large sweet onions sliced into ½ inch thick half rounds

One 3.5 – 4 lb corned beef, rinsed

Stir all ingredients together in a 5-7 quart slow-cooker. Add onions and top with the corned beef. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours (I did 9 and it was fine) until meat is fork tender. Remove the meat from the cooker, cover with foil, and allow to rest for 20 minutes. Remove the bay leaf, peppercorns, and allspice berries from the cooking liquid. Thinly slice the brisket across the grain to serve.

