Note to self: check yeast expiration date before baking bread

It was amusing to wake up this morning and see all of the bubbles exploding in the dough. According to the recipe, that was a good sign. However, after 17 hours I tried to fold the very wet, sticky dough over onto itself and I knew I had a problem. I was nervous until I got to the part of the recipe that says, “it may look like a mess, but that is O.K.” Sadly, it just didn’t rise as much as it should have. Instead, it’s a very tasty flat bread but that doesn’t stop us from eating it.

photo

So, I’m off to the grocery store to buy more instant-rise yeast and I’ll be making the Cooks Illustrated Whole Wheat version over the weekend. I’m already a big fan of the use of parchment paper instead of a towel that ends up a sticky mess.

One thought on “Note to self: check yeast expiration date before baking bread

Comments are closed.