Favorite Cookies

I haven’t turned on my stove or oven for much more than steaming or roasting vegetables in the last few weeks. Luckily, that is about to change! I just completed the first draft of my capstone (second year research project necessary to complete my masters)! It’s just a waiting game now to receive the official sign-off from my advisers. If all goes well, I’ll have my MPH by next Friday!

I decided to celebrate today by making my favorite cookies to bring to seminar this afternoon. I found the recipe on Joy the Baker and have made them at least 3-4 times over the last year. They are soft and chewy with a nutty flavor imparted by the oatmeal and a sweetness added by a bag of chocolate chips. Divine.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

1 cup unsalted butter, softened (important!)
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1.5 tsp vanilla extract (Try Penzeys if you haven’t already. If anyone wants a $5 coupon, email me.)

Beat the white and brown sugar with the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer until creamy, about- 3-4 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition. Add vanilla and beat until blended.

2.5 cups uncooked oats (I only had 3/4 cups today and then put 1 cup steel cut oats in the food processor to add a crunchy oat flavor to the cookies)
2 cups AP flour (or half whole wheat and half AP)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups dark chocolate chips
1 cup chopped (I also toast mine) pecans

Whisk together the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices. Add to the butter and egg mixture slowly beating on low speed until just incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips and pecans last.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-13 minutes. I use a TB to measure my spoonfuls and those took about 13-15 minutes. Allow to cool for five minutes on the sheet before transferring to a wire rack. Beware, this recipe makes over 2.5 dozen cookies. Enjoy!

